1. Food

User Reviews

Cuisinart Griddler GR-4

User Rating 2 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
I am so disappointedJanuary 05, 2013 By balexan
I have looked forward to getting this for months.. but waited until Christmas so my kids could give it to me. What a major letdown...the grill does not heat evenly, my bacon and eggs on one side were done before the potatoes on the other side had even begun to brown, they never did until I moved them over to the other side. The grease does not drain off into the drain hole, it accumulates on the edge of the bottom plate. The plates are not easy to remove to clean. I am heartbroken. I am a huge fan of Cuisinart, and was so excited to receive the Griddler. I am returning it to Bed Bath and Beyond today for a refund. This does not perform like a $l00 item should.
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Best EverDecember 30, 2012 By Dparker1322
I asked for this grill for Christmas and I have used it a couple of times already. I wanted it for our RV so when the weather isn't nice outside we could still grill in our coach. So far it has lived up to it's promises. I cooked burgers last night and the clean up was very easy. I love that both grills are removable and are non stick. I would highly recommend this grill to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Cuisinart CGR-4C GriddlerSeptember 30, 2012 By CodyMurphy
Although versatile, the grease always leaks underneath the plates and at the back and sides, not through the corners of the cooking plates as it should. We have to clean the counter top every time and the side and bottom of the griddler. We also have to clean the base under the bottom plate as it fills with grease and then that gets hot and runs everywhere. I have no idea how the grease slips through the base, see enclosed picture. I definitely would not buy another one of these.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Defective Cooking PlatesMarch 14, 2012 By SMMCK
Although the Griddler works well in the beginning, the plates begin to warp from the heat. The result is improper drainage, uneven cooking and, eventually, inability to snap them into place. When I reported this defect to Cuisinart, their solution was for me to purchase replacements for their defective plates. So, if you choose to buy this, count on periodic plate replacement at a cost of over $30 per plate.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Cusinart Griddler GR-4NJanuary 28, 2012 By Chuck1941
I bought a Griddler GR-4N about a year ago. Read lots of glowing reviews about how well they worked and they were very easy to clean and unbelievably versatile. All the reviews turned out to be absolutely true! I love it - when it works. Only problem is, the first one failed after about three to four months of occasional use. Returned it to the store and got a second one and it too has failed after about eight months of occasional use. The GR-4N is well designed, attractive, and useful but apparently uses some very sensitive electric/electronic components that do not hold up in the hot environment of a grill/griddle. When it works, it is fabulous, but the first one failed and would not come on after only a small amount of usage. The second one has a power switch that will no longer make contact unless you hold it just off of the ""on position"". Not an owner repairable part. I have lots of small electric appliances that we have had for 20 years or more that still function perfectly. The two examples of the Griddler I have both failed after only a few months. Even though it is very versatile, easy to clean, compact, and makes great fried eggs, pancakes, steaks and sandwiches I can not recommend it because of the poor reliability I have experienced.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
I reingeneered the top plate holding clip flaw.January 03, 2012 By FrananPi
With time of use the top cooking plate falling or not engaging properly in place: Solution: take out the plate and observe in the side opposite to the cooking surface a kind of clip screwed to it. You will note the clip configuration does not allow the latch actuated by the plate release button to fully engage and secure it in place. To solve this problem using a Sharpie marker I marked the portion of the clip to be cut off. Using a Phillips screwdriver disassembled the clip and placed in a small vice to hold it, then simply took a Dremel Tool circular grinding tool and cut the clip portion interfering with the latch. Screwed the clip back to the cooking plate and assembled back to the griddle. Note the plate holding latch now fully engage and holds the top plate securely even in earthquake conditions.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
cuisinart gr-4 griddlerJuly 27, 2011 By lakelot
I bought 4 gr-4 griddlers, 3 as gifts. Although I thought the item worked well, all 3 control knobs disintegrated about the same time. Cuisinart informed me that these knobs are no longer available which makes my grill useless.
26 of 29 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
DissapointedApril 26, 2011 By loeymg40
I purchased the Cuisinart Griddler because of a TV commercial. It cooked a steak wonderfully but when I used it for pancakes the griddle didn't get hot enough when I set it at the suggested temperature so I tried it again with the temperature set at the highest temperature and it still didn't get hot enough for pancakes. I will be taking it back in the near future.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Disappointing and unsatisfactoryJanuary 25, 2011 By drumfish
I was attracted to the Cuisinart Griddler for its multifunctions, and by the generally positive reviews, and bought it last week I used it five times with the grill plates for zucchini (lid closed), hamburgers, chicken breasts and flank steak (all with the lid open) and found: . The grills do not get hot enough; . The controls or thermostat seem to cut off the heat; . Both grills heat very unevenly; . The grooves on the grill plates are poorly designed; not deep enough, so that there is a build-up of grease or liquid that does not drain properly, with the result that the food is steamed rather than grilled (except for the zucchini cooked with the lid closed which was excellent). I didn't want the Griddler just for vegetables or panini so I returned it yesterday. The Griddler simply does not perform as represented.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
griddler cooking platesJanuary 15, 2011 By marjcavell
works very well. however, one problem--the non-stick coating on the griddler plates is peeling off. The unit was purchased in Aug/2010. Has anyone else had this problem? Is there any warranty coverage for this? Is there any solution for this problem?
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.